Day 159 Mile 159: Morning Election

votecolDay 159 Mile 159: Morning Election. It’s a general election in the UK today, and (from my perspective anyway) feels to have had the most partisan build up for a long time. So today’s route took me around the village and to the polling station with a view to being there roughly around opening time in order to vote.

The weather is less than ideal today, the wind has settled but there is a constant teem of rain, cratering perfect circles on the pavement where the rings light up white refracting the the overcast sky against the penumbra of the trees.

Turning down towards the station and looking out to sea, the islands and headland smudged in Payne’s Gray against the occluded boarder of what was once the horizon.

There is almost no one about, which is hardly surprising, and only the occasional hiss as the tires of cars, and lorries from the quarry betrays any sign of life.

Making my way up the hill and turning right between a statue of an old Prime Minster and the Chineese take away I entered the long flat road back to the Old Co-Op which serves as today’s polling station. Having had a painful foot for about 5 days it was nice to be able to once again open up on the flat (albeit gingerly) and find that things are starting to work again.

I stopped in the doorway to catch my breath before barreling in, still slightly damp and clearly someone not on their way to work in a suit. “Are you open yet?” I inquired. The gentleman behind the desk looked up from his neatly stacked pile of ballot papers and his gleaming register folder and smiled “30 seconds to the hour!”. I must be getting fitter 🙂 

I’m running a mile each day everyday for 2017. If you feel you can sponsor me please do, as all the money raised will go to the Cleft Lip & Palate Association (CLAPA) who provide services all across the UK to support people affected by it.

Distance: 1660.7 meters recorded

(1 mile = 1609.34 m.)
View more on Strava

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thanks as ever for all the support!

Ed

Leave a comment