Day 208 Mile 208: Curiosity Called the Cows

20170727_071909Day 208 Mile 208: Curiosity Called the Cows. On my journey to work I often have to drive past a small footpath sign, set back in the corner of a hedgerow which points tantalizingly through the foliage and across a style. On my way to work today I took the opportunity to stop and see where it led.

The path wound across the fields down towards the direction of the sea, passing under a railway bridge which hunkered over the track and opened into a field in which a pair of buzzards spiralled in a wide double helix only a few feet above the grass. Continuing on thw next gateway took me into a field of cows where things became slightly more complicated.

Having lived most of my life in a rural/semi rural evironment I’m not unused to livestock and once in a while a bit of respect is justified. Starting out across the field I could see I was being watched. Not a problem I thought, they have calves with them so it is only natural. So, i carried on at a sensible pace, keeping my distance and close to the hedge when gradually a bovine line started to form across the field. Hmm, ok. Then it started to canter. I recalled seeing a gate that lead into a little holding pen about 30 feet behind me, so I stopped to see if this was just a mischievous show of force by the cows and that if I didnt intrude they might just find me boring. The cows however did not decide to stop when I did so I turned, and at a walk, growing to an all out sprint made for the previous gate!

Me watching them, watching them watching me… now safely divided by a hedge!

The rest of the run compromised largely of getting back to the car, without getting back in THAT field again: diving through hedgerows, ducking barbed wire and squelching through ankle deep mud.

As I type this at work I realise my main error of the day, bringing a change of clothes but omitting extra socks!

I’m running a mile each day everyday for 2017. If you feel you can sponsor me please do, as all the money raised will go to the Cleft Lip & Palate Association (CLAPA) who provide services all across the UK to support people affected by it.

Distance: 1681.9 meters recorded

(1 mile = 1609.34 m.)

View more on Strava

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thanks as ever for all the support!

Ed

Leave a Reply

