Day 205 Mile 205: Chasing Shadows

20170724_183252Day 205 Mile 205: Chasing Shadows. I have been trying to make time for today’s run all day, and with work, and eating and sleeping and the like, time has been in short supply!

Having finally got around to it, I found that the running clothes I had lugged around with me all day were now super-heated; from being sat in a bag on the passenger seat of the car while I was in work which made for a odd sensation on an already 20°+ day.

So, in order to keep things as cool as possible I ran from one pool of shade to the next along the cycle track which threads above the sea, hemming the edge of the mountain that forms the western end of the village. This divides the squabbling denizens of Penmaenmawr and Llanfairfechan with several million tons of granite by way of an extinct volcano; personally I think that an active one would probably solve more rivalry, but one should be careful what one wishes for!

On this warm evening the sun is strong in-spite of becoming lower, and the shadows that this combination brings are quite impressive in the clear sea air. This sensation is heightened by the fact that the route I have taken seems to strangely heliotropic, aiming firstly directly towards the sun and on the return, away from it. This made the journey back extra special as I was at first surprised  to notice that the odd reflection flickering off bits of metal-work as I went past, was in fact my shadow eclipsing a trail before me. The effect of which was like a complete inversion of a beam of torchlight on a winters’ night, a wide cone of shadow issuing away to a focal point a few meters ahead.

The there was the fun of trying to catch up with it on the downhill sections!

I’m running a mile each day everyday for 2017. If you feel you can sponsor me please do, as all the money raised will go to the Cleft Lip & Palate Association (CLAPA) who provide services all across the UK to support people affected by it.

Distance: 1622.2 meters recorded

(1 mile = 1609.34 m.)

View more on Strava

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thanks as ever for all the support!

Ed

Leave a Reply

