Day 199 Mile 199 Snowdon / Yr Wyddfa

20170718_065820Day 199 Mile 199 Snowdon / Yr Wyddfa. What better way to round off the double century than with the tallest (and possibly) most well known mountain in the country. The majority of these pictures were taken on the jog /brisk walk up before running the 4 and a bit miles back down. There is an astounding early morning light and barely anyone about (I started at 5:30am!). I think I counted 10 people on the entire 8 mile round trip. So different from the way the popular summit will be in a few hours time. The view from the top was reward itself Snowdon (Yr Wyddfa to give it its old Welsh name) is almost always covered in thick cloud. I have never seen it as clear as this The Miners’ Track was built to serve the Britannia Copper Mine on Snowdon but it is not the route originally used to serve the mine.

In the beginning, miners lugged the copper up the eastern side of the mountain, to be drawn down the other side to Llyn Cwellyn by a sledge drawn by two horses. From Llyn Cwellyn, the copper was taken by horse and cart to Caernarfon. The road from Llanberis to Pen y Gwryd (the A4086 today) was opened around ten years later, and so this more practical route was used.

The path starts off wide and even, climbing gradually passes Llyn Teyrn to Llyn Llydaw, where the ruins of the old copper mine can be seen. From here, the path climbs steeply to Llyn Glaslyn, where it becomes a hard climb over scree towards the intersection of the Miners’ and the Pyg Tracks. The path then zigzags up to Bwlch Glas, and then on to the summit.

Snowdon (centre) from the Miner’s Track.

A random smiley face in the water!

Looking back across Crib Goch

On top of the trig point.

I’m running a mile each day everyday for 2017. If you feel you can sponsor me please do, as all the money raised will go to the Cleft Lip & Palate Association (CLAPA) who provide services all across the UK to support people affected by it.

Distance: 6506.5 meters recorded

(1 mile = 1609.34 m.)

View more on Strava

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thanks as ever for all the support!

Ed

Posted on Facebook at the summit

Text for those who cant hear on my phone’s mic in the wind:

Hiya my name’s Ed Wright and I’m currently stood at the top of Snowdon. My reason for being here is that I’m currently running 1 mile everyday for CLAPA (the Cleft Lip and Palate Association), and the view up here is astounding. [rotates camera] I don’t know if you can see that, but it is nothing short of amazing up here. I’m raising money for them, and I’ll be running back down in a minute. It’s day 199 so it’s a really good way to round off a double century. As someone who was born with a cleft lip and palate I think this is a really worthwhile cause to donate to, if you can, that would be really great! The website is (if I can remember it because my brain is addled from running up here) https://www.justgiving.com/fundraising/1mile365days . Even if you don’t want to give anything, or you haven’t got anything, there’ links to a blog I’m doing, running everyday in stupid places like this. It’s astounding, and amazing, and I’m going to get down before it gets to cold in the wind. Take care, look after yourselves. Bye!

Leave a Reply

