Day 162 Mile 162: Hedgerow Navigation

20170611_113223Day 162 Mile 162: Hedgerow Navigation. One of the really great things about trying to run everyday is that eventually it forces you to explore new places and seek out new corners in those which are familiar.

Today turned out to be one of those. With a busy day ahead I ended up going for a run while in the process of giving a lift to work. As a result I found myself at the back of Llandudno’s Bodafon Farm and rather than take the obvious iconic route along the sea front I tried the lanes that wind along the limstone outcrops that form the hill behind.

Within about half a minute I noticed a sign for a footpath across the fields to my left, and took it on a whim with no real idea where it lead.

From there I ran across the fields, stopping to allow a white haired elderly lady across the style ahead of me. Happily declaring that she was just a bit unstable on her feet and not drunk, which raised all sorts of previously unconsidered suspicions on my part!

From there the path turned into a narrow hedgerowed cycle track moving up hill at an angle which felt roughly 90 degrees away from where I started.

It’s great to just follow your nose and explore.

Eventually the cycle path met a road which looked like it ran roughly back towards the farm and my car. It turns out that this hunch was correct and afforded a fantastic view out over the fields to the Great Orme and the sea.

It turns out that getting almost lost on purpose has a lot to commend it!

20170611_114233-01

I’m running a mile each day everyday for 2017. If you feel you can sponsor me please do, as all the money raised will go to the Cleft Lip & Palate Association (CLAPA) who provide services all across the UK to support people affected by it.

Distance: 1617.5 meters recorded

(1 mile = 1609.34 m.)

View more on Strava

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thanks as ever for all the support!

Ed

2 thoughts on “Day 162 Mile 162: Hedgerow Navigation

Leave a Reply

