Day 156 Mile 156: A Low Ebb

20170605_063921

Day 156 Mile 156: A Low Ebb. Today was always going to be a tricky run; my left foot is still not fully back to rights, its raining, my car is in for its MoT necessitating a 13 mile ride to work, and to top it all of it’s Monday of a busy week.

Screenshot_2017-06-05-06-32-11That said I went out and did it; holding onto the marathon quote of “start slow and get slower”, half jogging, half hobbling my way to start with, as things gradually started to ease up. The rain is coming down in stair rods accompanied by a 25 mph wind which means everything is soaked almost instantly and depending on the direction of travel makes keeping the eyes open a task in itself.

For the first time since the start of this challenge I am wondering if my body can do this. In my head I’m still OK, we shall see what tomorrow brings. I’m going to leave it until tomorrow evening so there is a good 32 hrs recovery time and see what happens.

I’m running a mile each day everyday for 2017. If you feel you can sponsor me please do, as all the money raised will go to the Cleft Lip & Palate Association (CLAPA) who provide services all across the UK to support people affected by it.

Distance: 1634.1 meters recorded

(1 mile = 1609.34 m.)

View more on Strava

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Many thanks as ever for all the support, it means a lot right now.

Ed

Update 8:45am: Having figured out late yesterday that it was a niggle with my Posterior Tibial Tendon I now have some form of diagnosis. This was brought on largely by not noticing the arch on the side of my cycling shoes had broken down leaving an exposed reinforced edge digging in my foot as I went Pokémon hunting for a large part of Saturday afternoon. One of the key indicators is not being able to stand on tiptoes on the affected foot, which I couldn’t yesterday. I have just found that now I can so this is progress 🙂 

Leave a Reply

