Day 155 Mile 155: Knee Deep in the Irish Sea

Day 155 Mile 155: Knee Deep in the Irish Sea. Today I went for a run in the sea and it was great. As was always predicted to happen at some point during this year of running every day I woke up this morning with what felt like tendon pain in the arch of my left foot. No matter I thought, as someone in their mid-thirties I just put it down to sleeping awkwardly having fallen back to sleep following a (false) fire alarm somewhere in the hour of 4. As I staggered to the kettle for the morning tea the sensation in my foot did not seem to ease that much in the way the most niggles do. Hmm. Alarm bells start echoing in my sleep addled brain again.
A few people have asked to what extent I  actually plan each run ahead of time. Yes there are some which I just go where my nose takes me, there are some I do a bit of reading up/talking with people about before hand and there are a few which I have wanted to do for what feels like forever. Today’s run is one of the later.

So as a bit of low impact therapy and to tick one off the bucket list, I ran for a mile in the sea along the beach. Not on the sand or splashing through the surf, proper knee to waist deep fun.

I got a dry sack on my back for my shoes, house keys, towel, shopping (comprising butter and mushrooms for later) and GPS run tracker (which I have been trying to record each of these on) and did it. It was great. It felt like seriously hard work, but there is something wonderfully childish about it.

It was nice to be in surprisingly good company, with a few other people obviously enjoying the beach and doing their own thing, be that the family dodging waves, the people flying kites of various levels of complexity and beauty through to the people driving a pony and cart who I had great fun keeping pace with along the surf line for a while.

I had a laugh and it was fun; I suspect a few people in the village think that I have completely lost it and my foot feels a lot freer. The later is hard to tell at this stage if it is just a result of fun being the best medicine but time will tell!

I’m running a mile each day everyday for 2017. If you feel you can sponsor me please do, as all the money raised will go to the Cleft Lip & Palate Association (CLAPA) who provide services all across the UK to support people affected by it.

Distance: 1669.2 meters recorded

(1 mile = 1609.34 m.)

View more on Strava

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thanks as ever for all the support!

Ed

Leave a Reply

