Day 152 Mile 152: Up, up and away

downDay 152 Mile 152: Up, up and away. Every so often something amazing looking comes along and common sense gets put to one side. The idea of running up (and subsequently down!) a mountain seems amazing however the reality is never usually quite as liberating and life affirming as the images one conjectures!

However, yesterday evening it came into my head that this morning I should attempt to run/jog/shamble up the footpath which runs up the centre of the Sychnant Pass, loop back on the road on the way day down and see if I could do it.

I woke up this morning to find that the weather was OK and that it was a sure sign that wimping out would have to be my own decision and not that of the elements so I went for it.

20170601_065230The run starts at the back of the houses that nestle at the start of the pass proper. The ferns surrounding the path are almost as tall as me which adds to the feeling of being a kid on a big adventure. Only the tops of the mountains show above the wall off green, hemming in the route to the east. The suspicion that a T. Rex  or some other Conan Doyle-esque could creature be lurking anywhere out there was deeply ingrained!

As the path wound up and steepened, the ferns shortened and eventually expired into heather and gorse and the midges retreated into the shade. The sound of the birds in the woodland over the other side of the hill wafted down the pass, bringing echoes of cuckoo and blackbird into the mix of the sound of breath and foot fall on gravel.

Reaching the gate at the top which leads to the grazing on the plateau and turning around I had done it, I many have run very slowly but I had run all of it. I ‘freewheeled’ out along the farm track and then down the road happily bouncing along the even tarmac until I had to stop to take a thorn out of my shoe and the world seemed great.

bend

It is odd how something so contrary could have such an appeal. Not even particularly based on the fact that it is a challenge, more that it seems and aesthetically pleasing thing to do. Its hard work running up hills but today it came together and was utterly worth it, tomorrow may be a bit of a struggle though!

I’m running a mile each day everyday for 2017. If you feel you can sponsor me please do, as all the money raised will go to the Cleft Lip & Palate Association (CLAPA) who provide services all across the UK to support people affected by it.

hill2Distance: 1915.4 meters recorded

(1 mile = 1609.34 m.)
View more on Strava

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Once again thank you to everyone who has supported in so many different ways 🙂

Ed

Leave a Reply

