Day 150 Mile 150: Pick a Path and Go

20170530_080924

Day 150 Mile 150: Pick a path and go. Most of us like to do new things and experience new places, however we also like familiarity and some sense of what might be about to come. This juxtaposition can almost lead to paralysis as the tension between these two poles goes un-resolved. So today I took myself up to a bit of the hills I know relativity well and set out on a path I don’t know.

My abiding memory of this hill is that it is where I came star gazing after work late one evening and first saw the rings around Saturn through a telescope. However it is now daylight and overcast with the heady scent of the newly opened ferns pervading the verdant hillside. Dotted around and in between these the foxgloves are coming into flower, ringing in the summer with their blooms, bright amoung the green.

IMG_20170530_084744_649

Turning left by a dry-stone wall the path dropped away steeply down a natural channel which must be almost a river in winter, cutting under trees and over exposed bed-rock before opening out just above a road which I drove along only a few days before.

Great. Let’s follow this and loop back around to the start ūüôā It was not quite the epic adventure I had hoped for, but it ended up being futher and less linear than I expected and filled in a few gaps on the map in my head! What a lovely micro-quest to start the day with.

I’m running a mile each day everyday for 2017. If you feel you can sponsor me please do, as all the money raised will go to the Cleft Lip & Palate Association (CLAPA) who provide services all across the UK to support people affected by it.

Distance: 2076.2 meters recorded

(1 mile = 1609.34 m.)

View more on Strava

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thanks as ever for all the support!

Ed

Leave a Reply

