Day 143 Mile 143: On Flora, Fauna & Linnæus

Day 143 Mile 143: On Flora, Fauna & Linnæus. With the encroaching onset of summer, today is a wonderful opportunity to go for a run out in the wilds and search out a few examples of the wonders of nature. So today I took myself around part of the Pensychnant nature reserve which in itself is a ‘Site of Special Scientific Interest’. This includes a diverse mixture of grass and heath-land including traditional upland grazing, woodland, bracken, scrub, hawthorn, gorse, rock exposures and depending on the weather may also include mires, streams and standing water.

Carl Linnaeus was born 310 years ago today and remains one of the towering figures of the natural sciences. He was born in Sweden and was a botanist, physician, and zoologist, who formalised the modern system of naming organisms called binomial nomenclature. Among other things he was also a massive influence on Darwin and Goethe wrote: “With the exception of Shakespeare and Spinoza, I know no one among the no longer living who has influenced me more strongly.” In addition to this his body comprises the type specimen for the species Homo sapiens, following the International Code of Zoological Nomenclature, since the sole specimen he is documented as to having examined when writing the species description was himself!

wp-image--181609890

20170522_181433


wp-image-222093652

20170522_175819

wp-image-709524124

wp-image--53744789

wp-image--234786575

It was a fantastic little run starting at the base of the ‘proper’ bit of the west of the sychnant pass, but instead of going up, I took the road south and then onto the footpath and across the fields encountering various wonders, the most stationary of which I have managed to capture. The rabbits careering across the field and the spiraling jackdaw I will have to leave to your imagination, as for the random llama, I’m not even quite sure if I saw that!

On a small aside its great to realize that today’s run means I have now run a little over 200 miles so far this year!

It’s very rare that I get earwormed by my own music but today is one of those days and it seemed appropriate. So here is the only (known) recording of Botany. Commissioned by the Llandudno Festival, sung by the Amici Del Canto choir, text by Robert Minhinnick and recorded by my friend Zac in the seat behind me with a minidisk player (check the year on that!) which he had smuggled into the concert.

I’m running a mile each day everyday for 2017. If you feel you can sponsor me please do, as all the money raised will go to the Cleft Lip & Palate Association (CLAPA) who provide services all across the UK to support people affected by it.

Distance: 2128.2 meters recorded

(1 mile = 1609.34 m.)

View more on Strava

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thanks as ever for all the support!

Ed

My thoughts go to any of those affected by the events in Manchester last night. It’s an area relatively near me, and I have  a daughter who is into chart music. On a different day that could have been us. Hold onto love and hope, for when the rest drops away that is what we have left, and it is ultimately only with these that we can make a lasting difference.

Leave a Reply

