Day 119 mile 119: Big Rock 10k

Day 119 mile 119: Big Rock 10k. Today is a bit special as there is a 10km race taking place through the village (which I have entered) and along with various other fun events surrounding it including a festival on the beach there is a 1 mile beer race, which, under great duress (not!) I have also got a race number for.

Big-Rock-Festival-10K-Flyer-v2-590x836It is the first year the the Big Rock 10k has happened, starting in the village and running between the two headlands which boarder Penmaenmawr (literally meaning something like the Large Stone Peak hence the race name) and it is great to see so many people around the village. This isn’t to say that they are just running as some people are just chilling out, having fun, supporting and indeed going to the festival attached to the day.

There are various races taking place throughout the day with the 10k starting it followed by a kids race, 5k colour run, 1mile beer run & 1 wife carrying competition, as well as a music festival so it promises to be a massive laugh.

The 10k started in the middle of the village by the shops and the library it was great to see so many people out supporting, especial thanks must go to Linda Knight of A55 motorcycles who grabbed my hat for me as I overheated in the 2nd mile! When I got home it was by the door ūüôā

The route rattled through the town to the sea and finished with flags and cheers on the prom. Two things that made it really nice where 1 a new PB over 10k for me, and 2 my daughter deciding on a whim to do the fun run.

Great to hear various bands playing and giving a really breath of life to a space of Tarmac I know so well.

Taking part in the Beer Race was a bit of an unknown entity. I rashly agreed to do this ages ago as a bit of a laugh, primarily because it had ‘1 mile’ and ‘beer’ in the title, and Rob my neighbor said he thought it was a good idea. So, with more trepidation than I had about entering the 10km earlier in the day I got ready for whatever would be (possibly literally) thrown at me. It turned out that he wimped out but I had a great time talking to men in kilts in what is possibly the most good natured and certainly the slowest race I have ever been involved with!

All in all the day has been a pretty amazing day! …….

Today’s earworm ūüôā

 

 
I’m running a mile each day everyday for 2017. If you feel you can sponsor me please do, as all the money raised will go to the Cleft Lip & Palate Association (CLAPA) who provide services all across the UK to support people affected by it.

Distance: 10052.5 meters recorded

(1 mile = 1609.34 m.)
View more on Strava

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thanks as ever for all the support!

Ed

Leave a Reply

