Day 113 mile 113: The Call of Nature, St. George and Dragonflies

Day 113 mile 113: The Call of Nature, St. George and Dragonflies. Secluded in the northern edges of the Carneddau mountain range lies the diminutive lake of Gwern Engan; nestled between the trees and the more forbidding peaks. This little lake is home to 16 recorded species of dragonflies, is less than 3 miles from home and is somewhere I have never been.
Anecdotally dragonflies start to emerge at the lake from around the start of May, however there is a chance that with the snap of the last few warm days that they may already be out.

Being English on St George’s day it also seems like good fun to go chasing after Dragonflies in the mountains, cultural sensitivities of being in Wales permitting.

I didn’t see any dragonflies today. That may have been that it was just too early in the year, or the fact that I simply ran past them, but I did hear my first cuckoo of Spring.

Every so often I get taken by surprise by how astonishing the world around us is. As part of my daughter’s birthday celebrations yesterday she had a sleepover and therefore the bathroom has been barricaded all morning with the sounds of chart music and makeover sessions permeating under the door. As a result of this when I started my run I was feeling a vague need to visit the bathroom, by the end of the route it was becoming a rather pressing issue.

Hopping over a dry stone wall to resolve this problem I dropped down into a pine-cone woodland. The ground behind meant the wall was just around chest hight and afforded a socially acceptable degree of modesty.

Without going into too much detail I had been so preoccupied with getting over the wall, landing the jump off the top and taking care of ‘business’ on the other side that I had completely ignored everything around me. Looking over the wall I found myself starting directly down the Synchnant Pass; the orange and grey mountains wreathed in golden sunlight framing the green of The village of Dywgyfychi. Beyond that lay the azure blue of sea and highlighting the horizon the Isle of Anglesey under a cloudless sky.

Possibly the best wee ever!

I’m running a mile each day everyday for 2017. If you feel you can sponsor me please do, as all the money raised will go to the Cleft Lip & Palate Association (CLAPA) who provide services all across the UK to support people affected by it.

Distance: 1841.9 meters recorded

(1 mile = 1609.34 m.)
View more on Strava

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thanks as ever for all the support!

Ed

Leave a Reply

