Day 111 mile 111: Concerning Hobbits, and Trig Points

Day 111 mile 111: Concerning Hobbits, and Trig Points. To paraphrase JRR Tolkien today is the Eleventy First day and being built somewhat like a hobbit this seems important.

Today I found myself at the head of the Conwy Valley so took the chance to visit one of the many Triangulation points which summit the hills and as such afford spectacular views. The one at the top of Bryn Iocyn is no exception. Today the road to the start of the footpath was closed (for no obvious reason) so I left my car (already being to smell like a small bomb on account of all the white spirit in it) down by the houses and walked to the start of the route.



The trig point itself is spectacular with not only amazing views to the estuary and the mountains but also in that today the hill that it stands on is wreathed in bluebells and gorse flowers. To the north west it is eclipsed by a radio mast a more recent addition to the scientific comprehension of the landscape but a kindred structure none the less.

I was joined for part of my run by a very tame chaffinch who bounced along the hedges and fence posts beside me for a surprising distance. At the far end of the route I also met one of the biggest horses I have ever seen who also seemed disturbingly curious as to what I was up to!

It was all great fun, I only got a bit lost and my car had not exploded when I got back to it, an all-round win!

I’m running a mile each day everyday for 2017. If you feel you can sponsor me please do, as all the money raised will go to the Cleft Lip & Palate Association (CLAPA) who provide services all across the UK to support people affected by it.

Distance: 2002.1 meters recorded

(1 mile = 1609.34 m.)
View more on Strava

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thanks as ever for all the support!

Ed

Leave a Reply

