Day 103 mile 103: Tryfan, mountain and mosquitoes

img_0234Day 103 mile 103: Tryfan, mountain and mosquitoes. Today is a day off, woop so I have the brief opportunity to go somewhere astounding. While Tryfan is not the largest mountain in North Wales (although it is not far off) it is generally regarded as one of the best. It is a textbook triangular mountain, shaped much the way you might have drawn a mountain when at primary school. It also requires at least some use of hands on the rock which ever way you choose to get to the summit so is slightly more adventurous than some of its train infested and more popular neighbors.

Today’s run is written up as the descent from the summit down to the Ogwen Cottage Cafe, I obviously went up before running down, and while I did a respectable time there is no way I could honestly say that I ran the entire way up!

The top boasts astound views guarded over by the twin pillars of Adam and Eve and from there it is a descent of over 1800 ft in the course of 1.8 miles through rock and bog and clouds, where dew droplets clinging to grass stems give way to warmer climes as the altitude decreases. I could witter on for a long time but I thing the photos probably do it more justice, that and I need to get on with the washing up!

Thanks as ever for all the support

Ed

img_0251
img_0249
img_0247img_0246img_0240

img_0238

img_0236

I’m running a mile each day everyday for 2017. If you feel you can sponsor me please do, as all the money raised will go to the Cleft Lip & Palate Association (CLAPA) who provide services all across the UK to support people affected by it.

Distance: 3028.9 meters recorded

(1 mile = 1609.34 m.)
View more on Strava

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!
Leave a Reply

