Day 64 mile 64: Rural Return

img_9477Day 64 mile 64: Rural Return. It’s great to be back among the hills. Don’t get me wrong I love being in towns, with people and an intricately constructed environment, but there is just so much more to see, appreciate and seek to understand in 1 square foot of mountainside compared to a concrete slab of the same size.

Today’s run had little or no plan at all, being basically an extension of driving to the shops to buy milk. However, once I meandered up to the hills I simply found a carpark jumped out and went.

The back of the Sychnant Pass, as it sweeps down to Conwy, is less austere than its westward face: comprising a rolling mix of orange bracken and sheep cropped grass, almost luminous in the pre-storm light.

Today was hard work, or at least the first half was: 0.5 miles up on road and path, then turn around and come back… that’s the best bit 🙂

As I got back to the car and stopped my watch, the first drops of rain came down and as I turned the engine over the storm opened up. As the engine fired over and the radio came on I was surprised to find the BBC Radio 4 Sunday Service on. I’m not a particularly religious person but presented with this hymn playing, in that environment, full of endorphins, it seems on heck of a coincidence!

Be thou my guardian and my guide,
and hear me when I call;
let not my slippery footsteps slide,
and hold me lest I fall.

Issac Williams (1842).

Sometimes these things seem to happen:) Thanks for all the support and best wishes to all those running the Anglesey Half Marathon and 10k today.

Best

Ed

I’m running a mile each day everyday for 2017. If you feel you can sponsor me please do, as all the money raised will go to the Cleft Lip & Palate Association (CLAPA) who provide services all across the UK to support people affected by it.

Distance: 1713.5 meters recorded

(1 mile = 1609.34 m.)
View more on Strava

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!
Leave a Reply

