Mile 34 Day 34: Pavements and Puddles

Mile 34 Day 34:Pavements and Puddles. Wooohooo its Friday, AND the wind has died down a bit! It left us with a beautifully clear morning (when I took the photo) which of course had developed into a sullen drizzle by the time I got a chance to go out.

img_8928

As someone who does not run in town much, it surprises me how much I like it. Obviously a change is as good as a rest, but it is nice to see familiar faces and get to look at places you take for granted in a slightly different way. The irony is that in an urban environment I seem to spend so long rushing from A to B while feeling preoccupied, that actually running from one place to another seems to provide more head-space for noticing and appreciating the world around.

Its great to get to leave work run up the hill, past the train station that I visited so many times as a student. Back in those days when they still had trains which only had door handles on the outside and you had to lower the window and turn the handle, at the start of the millennium! The route then continues past the road where my first student house was; a place of many parties, great friends and a wonderful elderly couple who lived next door and were incredibly forgiving of our well meaning buffoonery. It winds up past the Greek Taverna where we spent many a happy evening playing music, telling stories and playing chess. The pavement then rounds the Belle Vue, home of one of the better (and certainly one of largest) Sunday lunches I ever had, before bursting into College Road with its obstacle course of recycling boxes and scholars. Then, as the University approaches there is a thundering descent past various jostling architectural styles, losing hight down the windy back-road of Penrallt with its mix of tarmac and brick before pulling up to a stop at the end of the loop.

Not that it should matter, but I did this loop on 11th January and I’m now 29 seconds faster (even if you allow for the two glasses of wine I had last night, with a plate of burger and chips!…. oooops) ūüôā If I can get 5% faster every month for the year I will be ecstatic!

Afternoon Run

Distance: 1652.2 meters recorded

(1 mile = 1609.34 m.)

Elapsed time: 10 minutes, 25 seconds
View more on Strava

I’m running a mile each day everyday for 2017. If you feel you can sponsor me, all the money raised will go to the Cleft Lip & Palate Association (CLAPA) who provide services all across the UK to support people affected by it.
JustGiving - Sponsor me now!
Leave a Reply

