Day 33 mile 33: WINDY!

weatherDay 33 mile 33: WINDY! When I started this I said ‘and there will certainly be bad weather’ and it has now delivered. At this point there are two options, 1) try to get under some shelter and avoid it or 2) admit what you are hiding under may well fall over and go out in the uninterrupted hooley. So, I picked the second!

After witnessing a flock of wheelie-bins seeking a haven on lower ground, several branches and possibly the odd Tax Return duplicate going past I decided that oddly it was safest in open ground. So I slogged it for half a mile along the prom against the wind and bounced my way back in the swirling tailwind.

In fairness it was great fun, having a tussle with the wind, keeping the worst of the rain out the eyes, and avoiding tripping over terriers out for their evening walk as they strayed into the beam of the head-torch. The crazy jangle from the rigging of the boats, reminiscent of the jingle of cow bells of downhill ski racing, mixed with the background of the waves, and on the opposite side lorries on the on the expressway, brought a real sense of the epic and a feel of occasion to the affair.

I’ve worked for the mile today! If anyone fancies sponsoring me at the link below please do as the total is currently so close to £365 which would mean that each run this year earns at least £1 for charity, which feels oddly significant!

Take care all and I hope your roofs stay on!

Best

Ed

Distance: 1697.9 meters recorded

(1 mile = 1609.34 m.)

Elapsed time: 10 minutes, 8 seconds
View more on Strava

I’ll be running a mile each day everyday for 2017. If you feel you can sponsor me, all the money raised will go to the Cleft Lip & Palate Association (CLAPA) who provide services all across the UK to support people affected by it.
JustGiving - Sponsor me now!
Leave a Reply

