Day 27 Mile 27: Lighthouse Dash & A Ghost Story

lighthouseDay 27 Mile 27: Lighthouse Dash. Today finds me sneaking in a run in between doing some errands, and actually driving to work. Consequently I stopped off in Llanfairfechan and went along the prom, retracing the route of the town’s annual ‘Santa Dash’ while trying to avoid the sleeping swans.

The route looks across to Puffin Island, just off the north east tip of Anglesey. As a weird quirk of geography this means the lighthouse which overlooks the straits between the two islands is in peripheral vision at all times. There is something quite comforting about the cyclical light blinking away across the water to the accompaniment of the piping Oystercatchers in the predawn light.

In other news I managed to freak myself out for the first time. Coming down towards the gate which marks the turnaround point and the edge of the woods, I noted a taller gate-post coming out of the gloom. Not thinking much more of it I ran towards the gate until the post slowly stated to take on a more human shape. For about 5 seconds I seemed to be running towards an emerging hooded figure, clad all in black with no apparent face. Suspicions of ghost stories and sea shanties started to tingle in the back of my mind, and I started to wonder if being as dismissive of folk stories as we are of Hollywood films was a good idea. In that instant a pair of eyes pierced through the gloom beyond the gate. The realisation that the entire fiasco was just a man with his back to me, wearing a hoodie, and waiting for his dog to catch up with him was quite a relief!

I tried to get a photo of the lighthouse in the dark, but from across the straits it was utterly underwhelming on my camera phone, so today’s photo is looking east, back along the coast 🙂

Best

Ed

Morning Run

Distance: 1626.1 meters recorded

(1 mile = 1609.34 m.)

Elapsed time: 9 minutes, 40 seconds
View more on Strava

I’ll be running a mile each day everyday for 2017. If you feel you can sponsor me, all the money raised will go to the Cleft Lip & Palate Association (CLAPA) who provide services all across the UK to support people affected by it.
JustGiving - Sponsor me now!
Leave a Reply

