Day 21 Mile 21: Pants!

Day 21 Mile 21: Pants! This morning I set out to do the Conwy Parkrun. It’s an amazingly crisp clear and cold morning, ideal for it if you can keep warm enough!


For those who aren’t aquatinted with the Parkrun thing it’s basically a weekly 5km (3.1 miles) timed fun-run. I haven’t done a this since November so it’s really nice to get back to it. It also makes a real difference actually running with other people, and seeing familiar faces after the relative solitude of running on the hills in the last few weeks.

The Conwy park run starts off at the RSPB reserve an array of wetland estuary, rattles over the railway bridge, crosses river as far as the castle before looping back and up almost as far as Deganwy railway station before returning back to the reserve to finish.

It’s a lovely route, beautifully scenic in every way, and probably the flattest thing for miles around!

The main issue arose from the fact that as I crossed the start line I felt the elastic in my boxer shorts give. By about ten paces it was clear that my underwear had expired. After looking around for a bit (while continuing to run) and recalling the rest of the course, it was clear that there was no obvious hideaway in which to resolve this problem.

As a result I ran the 5k with my pants held up only by the crotch of of my running shorts. Luckily my prayers against chafage or the additional mechanical failure of my shorts seem to have been answered!

I’m heading home for as shower and a Saturday breakfast!

Best

Ed
Conwy Park Run

Distance: 5004.1 meters recorded

(1 mile = 1609.34 m.)

Elapsed time: 32 minutes, 5 seconds
View more on Strava

I’ll be running a mile each day everyday for 2017. If you feel you can sponsor me, all the money raised will go to the Cleft Lip & Palate Association (CLAPA) who provide services all across the UK to support people affected by it.
JustGiving - Sponsor me now!
Leave a Reply

